This little patch of paradise has attracted artists for about two centuries: a tiny bay at the northeastern tip of the lake is still called "painters' corner", from which yesterday's and today's painters have immortalized this enchanting view of the "King's Lake".
It stretches about 7.7 km (4.8 mi) in the north-south direction and is about 1.7 km (1.1 mi) across at its widest point. Except at its outlet, the Königsseer Ache at the village of Königssee, the lake similar to a fjord is surrounded by steeply rising flanks of mountains up to 2,700 m (8,900 ft), including the Watzmann massif in the west. The railway Königsseebahn served the lake from 1909 until 1965. Its last tracks were dismantled during 1971, and the station in Berchtesgaden was demolished in 2012. The only remaining element of the railway is the Königsee station (now a restaurant). The track route is mostly used as a walking path.
Königssee's landmark, the chapel of St. Bartholomew, can only be reached by boat. This world-famous church, originally dating back to the 12th cent., lies at the tip of a picturesque peninsula. Neighboring the chapel stands the former hunting lodge of Berchtesgaden's provosts and Bavaria's kings, today an idyllic location for an inn.
Here in Schönau am Königssee our historical heritage is regarded with respect. The ancient boathouses near Königssee's dock bear witness to this. As early as 1909 electric boat traffic was introduced in an exemplary early effort to prevent pollution. This is still the case today.
The schedule of electric boat you can see here: http://www.seenschifffahrt.de/koenigssee/fahrplan/fahrplan-und-fahrbetrieb